Labour exceeded expectations in the local elections in Oxford on May 5th

Of the 24 City Council seats being contest, Labour won a total of 18 and came second in 7 others. Labour’s share of the vote was 47% across Oxford, an increase of 5.6% on 2014. 

All of Labour’s incumbent councillors were re-elected, many with increased majorities, testament to the hard work and dedication Labour councillors undertake. Dan Iley-Williamson, Marie Tidball, Steve Curran, Jamila Azad and Nigel Chapman are our new additions to the council. We would also like to thank Roy Darke, Oscar Van Nooijen and Bev Clack, who all stood down in May.

Ed Turner, Deputy Leader of Oxford City Council said: “The results are confirmation that we are fantastic, diverse, liberal city and people love living here and helping to make it a fairer and more equal place.”

In the Cherwell District Council elections Labour candidates Cath Arakelian, Andrew Hornsby-Smith and Janet Warren won 1,810 votes in Kidlington East, while Chris Robbins, John Stansby and Michael Taylor won 1,370 votes in Kidlington West.

The results for Oxford City Council can be read here

The results for Cherwell District council can be read here

Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search